It is worthwhile to see
The church of St. Martin, which dates back to 1450, is situated in the town cemetery. From here you can read the history of Lošinj from the tombstones themselves. The priests who used to serve in this church were Glagolitic monks. They also served as notaries, and drew up testaments, contracts and the like for the local people.
Both the Piazza and the Parish Church of the Nativity of the Virgin date back to the period between 1696. and 1775. The church has three naves, and features relics of St. Romulus as well as a painting of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary on the altar.
The church of the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Walking along the Cikat seafront will lead you to the furthest point of Cikat, Annunziata, which is named after the votive church of the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary. This is the very heart of Losinj. Today's church, with its classical facade, was built in 1858 alongside an older, smaller church. Before the cape view stretches to the open sea, extending off into the distance. From this very point, Losinj women and mothers saw off ships and greeted them home again.
Even today, when the ship, passing Cape Annunziata, sounds his horn in greeting, you should know that the captain of the ship is from Losinj.
The many villas of the Austrian aristocracy (villa Caroline, villa Diana, villa Saborka)
A monument to Ambroz Haracic (1855 - 1916), professor at the maritime academy, and Losinj climate researcher and botanist
The Maritime Academy “Ambroz Haracic” in the form of a ship with its navigational bridge
The Art Collection of Andro Vid & Katarina Mihicic, and a collection of old masters - Piperata. The collection boasts two-dozen oil and watercolour paintings by Italian, French and Dutch painters from the 17th and 18th century.
The Church of St. Nicholas founded in 1857, which was the year in which it was dedicated to St Nicholas - the patron saint of sailors and passengers
Monument to Josip Kašman (1847 - 1925), world famous opera singer, originally from Mali Losinj
A fragrant Lošinj garden - the island nurseries of the medicinal plants in Mali Losinj. With an expert guide, visitors can acquaint themselves with the rich flora of the island, learn of the medicinal properties of the plants, and buy authentic island souvenirs.
The parish church of St. Anthony the Hermit, originally built in 1480, has been in its present-day baroque form since 1774. It boasts numerous works of art and an organ by Callido, as well as a Madonna with Child and Saints, and the relics of St. Gregory.
The Tower, dating from 1445, was built to defend the harbour from pirate attacks. The image of the Tower can be seen on the motif of Veli Losinj coat-of-arms. Today, the Tower houses a museum and gallery rooms, all open to visitors.
Apoxyomenos – an invaluable antique find discovered in the sea around Losinj in 1999. It is a life-size bronze statue of an athlete (Apoxyiomenos) dating from the 4th century B.C., an original made by the Greek sculptor Lysippus. A replica is on display at the museum, and the gallery rooms of the Venetian Tower in Veli Losinj.
The Church of Our Lady of Angels, built in 1510, has been transformed into a working art gallery by captains’ donations.
The “Podjavori” Woodland Park includes the former winter residence of the Hapsburg Archduke Charles Stephen, now a popular sanatorium.
Rovenska – the breakwater from 1856, built to protect the harbour during inclement weather. The foundation stone was laid by the Hapsburg Archduke Maximilian.
The Church of St. Nicholas, dating back to the 15th century, is situated on a site from which the early beginnings of Veli Losinj history may be traced.
The Church of St. John, after whom the hill was named, boasts a panoramic view of Veli and Mali Losinj, and has a hiking trail that leads to the southernmost part of the island of Losinj.
Losinj Marine Education Centre, where you can find out more about Losinj underwater world, as well as the colony of dolphins that are native to this area, by means of multimedia and interactive projections, exhibitions and lectures.
Ultramarin – a creative arts workshop run by Nena Nosalj Persic and her husband Damir Persic, who produce decorative objects using driftwood and ceramics.
The Franciscan Monastery with a three-storey campanile, dating from the 16th century
The Parish Church of Our Lady of Health, dating from the second half of the 19th century
The castle of the Osor patrician, Colane Drasa, dating from the 15th century
The original Parish Church of St. Mary Magdalene, built in 1534
Osorscica hill – a mountain trail. The peak of St. Mikul with its chapel makes a magnificent vantage point. The peak of Televrin lies at a height of 589m, where you’ll find the Cave of St. Gaudentius and the Big Cave
The Town Museum – the former town hall, dating from the 15th century (with remains dating from the Early Christian period, and even earlier still)
The Museum of Church Art in the former bishop’s palace
The Archeological Collection of Osor
The Cathedral was built between 1463 and 1498 (in a North-South direction). The main baroque altar holds the relics of St. Gaudentius, the bishop and patron saint of Osor
The town walls
The antique floor mosaic in the church of St. Mary in the graveyard, and the hexagonal baptismal font dating from the 5th – 6th Centuries
Osor's garden sculptures «Sculpture and Music» - A row of bronze sculptures based on the theme of music. The sculptures are laid during the time of the year when Osor Musical Evenings are held, thereby enriching Osor with these significant Croatian sculptural forms. The idea was conceived to place a row of statues including reproductions from the most famous Croatian sculptors such as Ivan Mestrovic, Fran Krsinic, Vanje Radaus, Ivan Rosandic and Belizar Bahoric, thereby creating a unique sculptural line, also featuring the original works of Marija Ujevic, which are dedicated to the musician Jakov Gotovac.